Skip to content

Hip-Hop Anonymous (Part 2)

May 29, 2011
  • The Knux, are beyond ill, silly, and stylish alternative hip hop artists from NOLA. They kinda remind me of Reggie Watts but not as vulgar or profane. Watch this video and try to tell me that you don’t feel an obscene urge to get the f**k up and move around, just try.

 

  • Speaking of Reggie Watts, if you haven’t seen this video already, you’ve been missing out.

 

  • Raphael Saadiq, has just put out a new soul/R&B album that sounds amazing from the songs I have been able to stream online (none of the torrents I’ve tried to dl will not fully download ugh! I guess that’s what I get for torrenting most of my music). Amazing as always. His voice is raw and beautiful on this album. This video is a little too melodramatic for my taste but this is an awesome song.

 

  • Fortunately I stumbled upon Child Rebel Soldiers a.k.a. CRS (the collaboration/side project of Kanye West, Lupe Fiasco, and Pharrell) a few months ago. Unfortunately they’ve only done a few songs within the past couple of years. This is, in my opinion, the perfect hip-hop grouping of talent. Pharrell brings the finesse, Kanye brings the attitude, and Lupe brings the style (I was going to to add lyricism but they all possess a plethora of that, no arguments). My favorite video so far is “Us Placers” but I could be biased because they sample Thom Yorke’s “Eraser” (BIG FAN!).

 

  • Black Milk is an American hip-hop producer and amazing MC. What I love most about his stuff is that he can appeal to modern hip-hop fans with the trendy classy/old school samples but doesn’t always keep his rhythms & beats so straight forward as most radio artists. The beats may sound choppy and awkward at times but juxtapose his fluid and fearless lyrics so flawlessly. He also does great layering with songs such as this:

 

  • BLAKROC was the highlight of my musical year in 2009. After working with Danger Mouse, The Black Keys got together with a bunch of genius hip-hop artists like Mos Def, RZA, Pharoahe Monch, ODB, Q-Tip, Raekwon,and the list goes on. The product was so gritty, lyrical, and pure amazing. Patrick Carney’s (percussion) simplistic drum beats made a transition from rock to hip-hop with such fluidity and ease while Dan Auerbach (vocals), as always, added raw chorus lines. Their second album is set to come out later this year (so excited!).

 

  • Moe Green brings a lot of a 90s beats feel to his shit. Still just getting introduced to his stuff but I was sold at “My tunes are tighter than Niki Minaj’s leggins.” Ha, funny stuff.
Leave a Reply

