Skip to content

Hip-Hop Anonymous (Part 1)

May 29, 2011

I’ve been really digging deeper into the hip-hop/R&B/soul/rap genres lately – I feel the need to share some of these artist’s talents with y’all if you haven’t discovered them already.  I hope you enjoy these artists as much as I have been enjoying throughout the last few months.

  • Jamie Woon, a British Malaysian/Chinese soul singer, songwriter, AND self-producer (can we say ethnic version of Prince?) has been able to put out some amazing beats and has a crazy beautiful voice. He can harmonize like a mother*****r and gives me chills down my spine. So jealous.

  • David Dallas, A European/Samoan hip-hop artist from New Zealand is climbing music charts. Though he looks young he uses a lot of old school brass filled samples and knows how to spit. I hope he doesn’t pull a Lupe Fiasco and wear a record label leash later on in his career. He has got a lot of potential (and is just a flat-out cute one) – Heck, Kanye’s even given him recognition and Dallas has collaborated with Freddie Gibbs already.

  • I’m so glad that Freddie Gibbs is becoming more and more recognized with all of his amazing collaborations. It still surprises me that he’s from Indiana. (I thought only football players and indie 500 rednecks were cultivated there. Did not know they could produce great rappers.) One of my favorite collaborations is between Mr. Gibbs, Bun B, Chuck English and Dan Auerbach (singer from The Black Keys, whom I love, and is coincidentally from Indiana’s neighboring state, Ohio).

  • Jamie Lidell is an English soul singer and songwriter. He’s been around for a while and I have to thank my drummer for introducing me to his funky soul sounds. He has a hint of Jamiroquai in his voice but subtract some of the higher pitched vocals and add in a shit ton more rasp and soul. This viddy is odd but good song nonetheless.

  • Chiddy Bang (I have to be really careful when I say their name out loud haha), is a hip hop duo from Philadelphia. They sample a lot of electronic songs in a very genius and viral manner. Great lyricists, beat makers, and mixers. The video below samples MGMT’s “Kids.”

  • Ski Beatz a.k.a. Dj Ski, is a hip-hop producer who has worked with a variety of awesome artists from Curren$y to Jay-Z since the 90’s. Most recently I came across a beautiful music video featuring Mos Def (in which I am an extreme fan of Mos Def’s work, with the exception of some of his less impressive solo work).

  • Laws, a low key hip hop artist from Florida really knows how to sample. From old funky samples to The Hypnotic Brass Ensemble (video below) to J.U.S.T.I.C.E., he will use anything and has quality flows/lyrics. I think he’s very underrated and I hope to see him around more often (I was only able to find his stuff through Pandora and more info on Myspace).

  • Animal Farm just released their second song “Test of Time” with Talib Kweli two weeks ago and it’s something to definitely groove to. I heard some of their other stuff and it’s slowly growing on me. Talib Kweli is always sick on collaborations though.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

