Skip to content

Another day, another disappointment….

July 6, 2011

So, turns out rumors of Kanye and Jay-Z’s plans for Watch the Throne finally being released yesterday on July 4th were just that – rumors.  It’s hard to get 100% accurate info on album releases, lately. However, their album is available for pre-order (meh, whoop-de-doo) on watchthethrone.com so the album must be coming relatively soon. You can also “like” their Facebook page to get a peek at their song, “H.A.M.” (Hard as a Mother***ker), but in my opinion I wasn’t impressed. As much as I defend my opinions of Kanye’s musicality I really hope that this anticipation is worth it and the album is phenomenal (I won’t get my hopes up since Jay-Z will probably be the main contributor).

Some things that were surprisingly non-disappointing and quite frankly kind of awesome:

  • I’ve heard Frank Ocean in circulation within the music community but never gave it a chance. With repeat releases I gave in and, wow, I am kicking myself in the ass for not listening sooner. Though his voice is a little too auto-tuned, reminiscent of Akon but way more tolerable, for my taste I definitely appreciate his lyrics and tunes. It’s very fluid and innocuous. Check out his new video, “Novacane” (hey no one said he could spell).
  • I was listening to some stuff by San Fransisco’s psych indie band,Wooden Shjips, a year or so back (during my psychedelic – Dead Meadow – The Black Angels rock phase). But I got kind of lazy and fell off of their music. This new track, “Lazy Bones,” is a GREAT reintroduction to their stuff. Check out this unofficial video if you like anything from harder, hypnotic, chill or dance-y psychedelic tunes.
  • Take this Thom Yorke: Radiohead drummer, Philip Selway, branches off with his own stuff. He’s apparently getting more attention than Yorke. His music is definitely different and much more chill, so far. I was expecting his drumming from In Rainbows to be on display but it looks like he’s aiming to show off his more well-rounded musical skills. There are beautiful guitar parts on his single release “Running Blind,” which can be listened to over HERE at Soundcloud.
  • THANK YOU, E from MusicNerdery. I love Common, probably not as much as you seem to do but, thank you. She shares Common/Nas’s new song “Ghetto Dreams” (the song is GENIUS shit) and more on her music blog HERE. . Check out her pro blogging contributions over at Potholes in My Blog, as well.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 10:17 am

    my writing sucks. but thanks. he also has another song out called “summer madness;” search the blog.

  2. July 6, 2011 1:50 pm

    Sucks?…hardly! But, yeah, badass song.

Leave a Reply

