Skip to content

You have a case of the Mondays? I have a cure….

July 19, 2011

My case of the Mondays was the monotony of work and kicking myself in the ass for not going to see the A Tribe Called Quest documentary in our local draft-house/theater before it stopped showing. I hope all you music lovers’ days are going much better. If not, dose up on some musical awesomeness:

  • Beastie Boys’ new video, “Don’t play no game that I can’t win,” ft. Santigold shot by Spike Jonze= golden. Definitely feeling the jam vibe and the horn section. You can peep their full-length “adventure” music video on the Beastie Boys website after 2a.m. central.
  • I miss JohnFrusciante – Mother’s Milk – more hard & funk RHCPs but this is definitely danceable. Stream the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ new song, “The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie,” over HERE at Stereogum. I’m definitely anticipating what the rest of their album will sound like.
  • I still need to check Maynard’s documentary about Wine. I love Maynard  James Keenan and I LOVE wine. Until then I’m going to be rockin’ out to Puscifer’s new song, “Man Overboard,” for their new album, Conditions of My Parole, streaming over at Spin. Indeed very “eerie” and pleasantly climactic. My fave, however, is still the sexy “Rev 22:20.” I’m pretty sure I’ve seen a strip dance to this song in the background. If not, it should be done. Check it (unofficial video):
  • Thank you Consequence of Sound for posting a new video, “Mustang Ranch,”  from Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears. Another great band to make it successfully from Austin, Texas. Head over to CoS to view and read about it. Motivation: excellent mixture of blues, funk, brass, and southern sound.
  • Ya know, I’ve been having a lot of mixed feelings over Unknown Mortal Orchestra. I am really really really digging their tunes. The vocalist, though, is a little uneasy on my ears. Just my opinion. Please, please, go over to The Rolling Stone’s magazine/music player to form your own.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

